Undergraduate Student Achievements

We are proud to acknowledge the many achievements of our students, and we wish them great success in fulfillment of their future endeavors.

Nathan doing award winning research!Go Tritons!Spirit Night

Names are in alphabetical order

2016 The 10th Annual ACSSA Undergraduate Research Symposium

Thank you to everyone who attended our event and to those that presented their research!

Congratulations to the 2016 Poster Presentation Award Winners!

Poster Presentation Award Winners     

  • Cole Carter (Biochemistry)
  • Levi Pilapil (Organic)
  • Christine Rahal (Biochemistry)
  • Robin Richardson (Physical/Analytical)
  • Yoyo Wang (Inorganic)

Charles L. Perrin Summer Fellowship

This merit-based fellowship recognizes students who show promise as future scientists through their participation in undergraduate chemistry research at UC San Diego.

Congratulations to the 2015-16 recipients of the Charles Perrin Summer Fellowship!

  • Maher Alhaja
  • David Stephen Roberts

Mayer Award

The Mayer Award recognizes outstanding research in chemistry by a graduating senior. The award is in honor of Joseph E. Mayer, one of the first members of the Department of Chemistry at UCSD. He came to San Diego in 1960 at the urging of Clark Kerr, who was then the President of the University of California, and Roger Revelle. Mayer was a renowned physical chemist who influenced the development of our chemistry department and this campus.

Congratulations to the 2016 recipients of the Mayer Award!

  • Kelsey Ann Krug
  • David Stephen Roberts
  • Hao Zheng

Click here to view past recipients.

Physical Sciences Dean's Undergraduate Award for Excellence

The Undergraduate Awards for Excellence is an opportunity to recognize and award our undergraduates who have demonstrated academic excellence and promise as researchers.

Congratulations to the 2016-17 recipients of the Dean's Award!

  • Kyle Balucanag
  • Tiffany Chen     
  • Jessie Davis     
  • Nathan Samskey
  • Summer Sherman         
  • Alexandre Vincent         
  • Yoyo Wang        

Urey Award

The Harold C. Urey Award is given to the most outstanding graduating chemistry major each year. Harold Urey came to La Jolla in 1958 as a founding father of the UCSD campus, and one of the first members of its chemistry department. He had won the Nobel Prize in 1934 for his discovery of deuterium, an isotope of hydrogen. This award was established in 1973, in honor of Dr. Urey's 80th birthday.

Congraulations to the 2015 recipients of the Urey Award!

  • Joshua Lee Cox
  • Nam Thanh Trinh
  • Shane Christopher Williams

Click here to view past recipients.

Silagi Award for Undergraduate Excellence

The Dr. Selma Silagi Award honors the late research scientist who moved to San Diego after retiring as professor emeritus from Cornell University in 1987. It is presented to a top UCSD graduating senior in one of the four natural sciences on the basis of academic performance, research, accomplishment, creativity, charisma, and potential for achievement.

Congratulations to the 2015 recipient of the Silagi Award!

  • Rhiannon M. Kennard

Click here to view past recipients.