Skip to main content

Student Spotlights

Undergraduate Student Awards

These awards serve as a way to honor our outstanding undergraduate student achievements. These awards are nominated by faculty or determined my outsanding academic achievement. Awards are presented at the Annual Undergraduate Research Sympossium.

Undergraduate Student Awards


Past Receipients

Past Awards

Poster Presentation Awardees 2019

  • Riddhi Ananth (Sailor Lab) - Inorganic Division
  • David Callahan (Bussey Lab) - Chemical Education Division
  • Andrea Gonzalez (O'Connor Lab)  - Biochemistry Division
  • Aurora Guild (Gerwick Lab) - Biochemistry Division
  • Christine Lee (Schmidt Lab) - Organic Division
  • Debbie Zhuang (Paesani Lab) - Physical/Analytical Division

Mayer Award

2017: Dylan Power

2016: Kelsey Ann Krug, David Stephen Robert, Hao Zheng

2014: Kuei-Lin Chang, Kevin Pham

2013: Saajan Bhakta, Jake Boissonnault

2012: Patrick Smith

2011: Nathan Hendricks

Urey Award

2018: Nicholas Checchia, Andrew Dang, Xiangyi Ke, Sijing Meng

2017: Ashley Hua Yee Chong

2016: Joshua Lee Cox, Connor Masao, Nam Thanh Trinh, Shane Christopher Williams

2014: Russell Lewis, Cydnee Ng, Dennis Tran, Krystine Vuong

2013: Pei-Ling Wu, Jung Hoon Park, Shiteng Duan, Alexander Ying Kit, Kevin Bao

2012: Kayla Nicole Busby, Stephan Sheung-Ming Leung

2011: Brittany Michel, Sihui Ma, Julia Stauber

Perrin Summer Fellowship Award

2018: Kaleb Barber, Yifan Wu

2016: Maher Alhaja, David Stephen Roberts

 Carolyn White, Megan Rooney

Teaching Excellence Awards

2011: Nellab Yakuby

Sigali Award

2011: Julia Stauber

ACS Poster/Oral Presentation Awards

2018 (Poster): Jacob Hawver Pachter, Gavin Heim, Qin Li, Laura Williamson

2015 (Oral): Ryan Davis, Christina Jayson, Eric Kircher, Phuc Nguyen, Michael Shenk

2015 (Poster): Jennifer Bowen, Christopher coyle, Samantha Freitag, Cassandra Gilmour, Kelsey Krug, Beatriz Lopez-Bermudez, Megan Murphy, Sean Najjar, Wiberth Narvaez, Jennifer Ngo

Physical Sciences Dean's Undergraduate Award for Excellence

The Undergraduate Awards for Excellence is an opportunity to recognize and award our undergraduates who have demonstrated academic excellence and promise as researchers.

Congratulations to the 2018-2019 recipients of the Dean's Award!

  • Rachel Blake (Komives Lab)
  • Gabriel Cabra (Galperin Lab)
  • Melinda Chan (Siegel Lab)
  • Xi Chen (Bertrand Lab)
  • Yueyi Chen (Komives Lab)
  • Shih-ting Huang (Komives Lab)
  • Ellen Lavorando (McHugh Lab)
  • Aaron Levy (Tor Lab)
  • Zhonghuan Luo (Paesani Lab)
  • Richard Niederecker (Yang Lab)
  • Nicholas Tu (Baldwin Lab)
  • Yifan Wu (Perrin Lab)